Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
National Computer Board


Charter Objectives

This Charter gives an overview of the services and activities of the different divisions of the NCB.

Organisation Structure

The organization structure comprises 7 divisions

  • Planning Research and Development
  • CERT-MU 
  • Business Development and Promotion
  • ICT Culture Promotion
  • NCB Technopreneurship Programme
  • Government Online Centre
  • Administration and Finance

The Planning Research and Development division was set up to study the use of ICT in Mauritius, make policy and legal recommendations, analyse the trend in ICT technologies, promote the use of state-of-the-art technologies and carry out R&D in ICT.

The Mauritian Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT-MU) was officially launched on 16 May 2008 as the main national body for co-ordination of information security incidents at the national level. It is a division of the National Computer Board. The mission of CERT-MU is to provide information and assistance to its constituents in implementing proactive measures to reduce the risks of information security incidents as well as responding to such incidents as and when they occur.

The Business Development and Promotion Division was put in place to develop an integrated approach for the promotion of Mauritius as a cyber island at regional and international levels in coordination with other public and private organizations of the ICT sector. It has also to assess the competitiveness of the Mauritian ICT industry and make relevant recommendations.

The ICT Culture Promotion Division aims at bridging the digital divide in Mauritius and developing an ICT literate nation.

The Government Online Centre (GOC) is a centralized data centre which supports e-Government initiatives. Equipped with state-of-the-art ICT Infrastructure, the GOC hosts the Government Web Portal which is one-stop-shop providing comprehensive information on Government Services and enabling online applications on a 24x7 basis.